Popular Posts

Gathering Storm by Victoria Danann‏

If you're looking for something new and different in PNR, you've come to the right place.

I write unapologetic romances with uniquely fresh perspectives on paranormal creatures, characters, and themes. Add a dash of scifi and a flourish of fantasy to enough humor to make you laugh out loud and enough steam to make you squirm in your chair. My heroines are independent femmes with flaws and minds of their own whether they are aliens, witches, demonologists, psychics, or past life therapists. My heroes are hot and hunky, but they also have brains, character, and good manners - usually - whether they be elves, demons, berserkers, werewolves, or vampires.

My first book, My Familiar Stranger, was nominated for Best Paranormal Romance of 2012 by the Reviewers' Choice and Readers’ Choice Awards. Each of my books has remained on the Amazon best seller list in category every day since release. All four also earned the Night Owl Reviews TOP PICK award and have remained on the Amazon Best Sellers list every day since release.

My work has been compared to J R Ward, Karen Marie Moning, Sherrilyn Kenyon, and Lara Adrian. For example:

"I do see shades of Lara Adrian's Breed books and shades of J R Wards Black Dagger books, but this story is unique enough that it stands out all on its own and can stand up along side those other books and I think given time will elbow them out of the way with the rich story telling and deep emotional core that makes you want to know more." - Kerry, Musings of a Bookworm

The Order of the Black Swan is a series that is also a serial saga. Each book is an episodic installment in an ongoing story. Join me for the adventure.

TWITTER: @vdanann

The fifth installment in the Black Swan serial saga. READING IN ORDER STRONGLY RECOMMENDED. That’s why we have a try-before-you-buy-program. The first book in the saga, My Familiar Stranger, is PermaFREE everywhere.

THE NEWSLETTER: Z Team, a.k.a Zed Company, is transferred to Jefferson Unit, which is being temporarily retired as an active hunter facility and converted to a research / training institution. Sol takes his first vacation – ever – leaving Glen in charge with Storm supervising. Rosie is proving to be an extraordinary little girl and Deliverance is in BIG trouble with her mother.

THE SURPRISES: Storm is really not himself. Former members of B Team must reunite to preserve his image and reputation. No one could have prepared for the surprises Rosie delivers.

THE ADVENTURE: The Ralengclan send a second wave assassination team to Jefferson Unit at the worst possible time, when it’s been left defended by only Z Team, Glen, the Lady Laiken and the trainees.

Q) What inspired you to write this story? 
The saga is based on the idea of multiple realities existing within the same physical space, but unknown to each other because of variants in vibration. This is an idea that is becoming more science and less science fiction all the time. The premise of the saga is that there are multiple versions of ourselves existing simultaneously in these other dimensions that are similar but not identical to our own, alternate, not parallel.

I was toying with the idea of being psychically connected to these other versions of ourselves in dreams. I have dreams in which I find myself in an unknown environment, interacting with people I have never seen, yet the dream has the distinct quality of feeling real. I began to wonder if I’m experiencing a glimpse of the lives of some of the other versions of me.

Q) How long did it take you to write? 
Three months more or less.

Q) What is your favorite thing about writing? 
Pure creative energy and expression.

Q) What is your least favorite thing about writing? 

Q) If you could be any famous person for one day, who would you be and why?
Nancy Wilson. She’s the package. Virtuoso guitar, singing, songwriting and still looks good.

Q) What is the oldest thing in your fridge and how old is it? 
A bag of shredded coconut. No telling.

Q) What can readers expect from you in the future?
Black Swan began as a probably seven book series. It’s gone beyond that now. I have to get as far as I can see and then I’ll be able to go further.